Smoky Blackberry Wine

5 Feb

A friend of mine told me about a blackberry wine she had tried at a local winery that had a smoky taste to it. The winery claimed that there had been a bush fire near where the blackberries were growing and the blackberries had retained some of the smoke. I put my blackberries in the smoker with cherrywood chips for 45 minutes. This recipe makes two gallons.

10lbs blackberries, frozen
2 campden tablets, crushed
1 tsp pectic enzyme
1 tsp acid blend
1 tsp yeast energizer, sugar to SG 1.090

water to 10 litres
K1-V1116 yeast

Add ingredients except yeast into primary and let sit overnight.
Then add the yeast.

I’ve decided to add bentonite when I first rack the wine into a carboy. The blackberries have a sweetish smoky smell that is a little bit mouthwatering. I think this will turn out well.

 

One Response to “Smoky Blackberry Wine”

  1. winemakingwithjuliet April 15, 2014 at 3:06 pm #

    If you do attempt this wine, do not leave the berries in the smoker as long as I did – only do about 10 minutes. My smoky blackberry wine never cleared, but the flavour was great!

Leave a Reply

