Pomegranate Wine

16 Oct

My friend Carolyn suggested I make pomegranate wine around a year and a half ago. Finally I came across some ingredients I could a) afford and b) process fairly easily. I had imagined hours leading into days picking out the seeds from pomegranates costing $4 each so I was happy to come across some pomegranate juice. It is from concentrate, so any purists reading look away now.  This is my recipe:

4l pomegranate juice from concentrate

Sultana raisins (I added around 325-350 g), chopped

Sugar to SG 1.090 (I added 1C sugar)

1 1/2 tsp acid blend

1/8 tsp tannin

1 tsp yeast energizer

Lalvin K1-v1116 yeast

So, it took about 3 minutes to get this together. I emptied the juice into a primary. I added the sugar to the desired SG. I then added everything but the yeast, which I will add tomorrow. I plan to keep an eye on this and stop fermentation at around 1.020. If it is still watery then I will add more sugar. The wine needs legs and a nose, after all.

Oct.24/11. Racked into carboy. SG 1.010.

Leave a Reply

